Blakes wins top spot at UK Coach Rally

Tiverton-based Blakes Coaches won the prestigious Coach of the Year award at last weekend’s UK Coach Rally in Blackpool for its new Beulas Mythos-bodied MAN RR4. Blakes beat off strong competition, including from Parrys International which has taken the top award for the last six years on the trot and had to be content with winning the top uniformed driver award this year.

UK Coach Driver of the Year was Chris Bibby of Bibbys of Ingleton and the company also took the Alan Goodwin Trophy for the highest placed operator in all classes.

Bright sunshine and a revamped judging process helped the 63rd Rally to a successful conclusion with the Blackpool setting now looking like a welcome new home for the event which was associated with Brighton for much of its history.

The organisers, Coach Displays, welcomed 55 coaches from coach operators across the UK and Ireland and a lively trade display was located above the judging arena and test drive circuit.

MAN used the event to unveil its first right-hand drive version of the restyled Tourliner, following its global launch at the IAA show in Hanover last September.



63rd UK Coach Rally 2017

Trophies and Awards

Alan Goodwin Trophy (The Highest Placed Coach Operator in all Classes) - Bibbys of Ingleton Ltd

UK Coach Rally Coach Driver of the Year - Chris Bibby - Bibbys of Ingleton Ltd

UK Coach Rally Coach of the Year - Blakes Coaches

Top Team of the Year - Haines Minicoaches

Peter Bostock Trophy (Highest Placed Driver in Saturday Tests) - Paul B Winson - Paul S Winson (Coaches) Ltd

UK Coach Rally Mini Driver of the Year - Richard Webb - Webbs Coaches

UK Coach Rally Midi Driver of the Year - Joe Hall - Lakeside Coaches Ltd

West Middlesex Coach Operators Association Trophy (Runner up to Coach Driver of the Year) - Daryl Dixon - Bibbys of Ingleton Ltd

Directors Challenge Trophy - Paul Winson - Paul S Winson (Coaches) Ltd


Concours D'Elegance Awards

Top Mini/Midi - York Pullman Bus Company Ltd

Top Standard Coach - Banstead Coaches Ltd

Top Touring/Express Luxury Coach - Damory

Trophy for Top Executive Coach - Go Goodwins

Top Coach aged 5 years or older - York Pullman Bus Company Ltd

Rita Dalziel Trophy (Top Coach aged 25 years or older) - Bradshaws Travel

John Fielder Memorial Trophy (Top coach from a small fleet up to 5 vehicles) - Gibbons Coach Holidays


Concours D'elegance Manufacturers' Awards

Top Scania - Coopers Tours

Top Neoplan - Buckleys Coach Holidays

Top Jonckheere - Perry's Coaches

Top Plaxton - Damory

Top Beulas supplied by Moseley - Blakes Coaches

Top Mercedes-Benz - Marshalls of Sutton-on-Trent Ltd

Top Van Hool - Redfern Travel

Top VDL supplied by Moseley - Elcock Reisen

Top Bova supplied by Moseley - Jay & Kay Coach Tours

Top Coach supplied by Volvo Buses - DJ Thomas Coaches

Best Irizar Integral - Blakes Coaches

Top Sitcar supplied by Moseley - Haines Minicoaches

Top Yutong - Brethertons Gold Line Tours

MOBIpeople award - Festival Travel


Special Awards

Boon’s Award (Best Coordinated Décor) - Go Goodwins

Peter Rogers Trophy (Top CPT Member) - Blakes Coaches

Top Coach from Wales - DJ Thomas Coaches

Tony Roose Trophy (Top Coach from Scotland) - Moffat & Williamson Ltd

Fred Bibby Award (Best loved Coach) - Swann Tours

LTCOA Martin Cornell Trophy (Highest placed LTCOA in all Classes) - Coopers Tours

Maurice Wrightson Memorial Shield - sponsored by drivers from Stanley Travel (Oldest Employed Participant in the Coach Rally) - David Ketley - Galleon Travel Ltd

Bernie Porton Memorial Trophy - sponsored by CDN&S (Coach of the Year as voted by the Coach Drivers) - Swann Tours

Smartest uniformed driver &/or courier - Parrys International Tours Ltd